About ASBO


ASBO New York: An association where members are recognized as experts in school finance and operations, and leaders in education.


ASBO New York supports the professional growth of our members, serves as the leading resource on school finance, and advocates to ensure quality education for all students.


Association of School Business Officials of New York (ASBO New York), formerly the New York State Association of School Business Officials (NYSASBO), was established in 1948 and is a 501-c-3 charitable non-profit membership organization affiliated with the Association of School Business Officials International and chartered by the New York State Board of Regents. Its membership includes school business officials and staff from school districts and BOCES around the state including students in School District Business Leader graduate programs and companies doing business with schools.


Jamie Phillips
Lisa Ryan
Kathleen O'Hara
Past President
John Brucato
Ron Clamser Jr.
Timothy Hilker
Cathryn L. Marchese
Jack R. Mitchell
James Stucchio


Michael Borges

Executive Director

Michael Borges is the Executive Director of the Association of School Business Officials of New York (ASBO).

Previous to beginning his role at ASBO in March of 2012, Borges was the Executive Director of the New York Library Association (NYLA) where he served as the chief advocate and spokesperson on behalf of libraries and secured the passage of seven pro-library bills into law.

Borges also served as the Legislative Representative for the New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) and Director of Corporate, Foundation, and Government Relations for Albany Law School.

As the executive director of ASBO, Borges is a strong advocate for public education and school finance and has increased the Association’s profile as the go-to resource on school finance issues through appearances on TV, radio, and newspaper interviews. Under his leadership, the Association has grown its membership by 30% over the last five years.

He currently serves on the board of directors for ESSAE, the Empire State Society of Association Executives.

ext. 108